Long distance relationships

If you’re a Nigerian abroad and have families and friends all over the place in various countries, you know the amount of work that goes into building and maintaining those relationships. Lately, I’ve been slacking in connecting and reconnecting with my friends and family and here are some reasons why.

  1. Time. It seems there’s never enough time.  As I grow older, I feel that a 24hr day just isn’t enough. In fact, I think a 24hr day could easily be upgraded to a 32hr day.
  2. TIME DIFFERENCE. This is the evil of all evil that’s truly weighing me down. On an average, my time zone is 5hrs behind those of the places where I have family and friends. I mean 3hrs time difference isn’t so bad – but 5hrs or 8hrs, that’s when things start to get a little tricky.
  3. Work schedule. I heart my job: the people, the organization, and of course the job itself. Even better, I love that it’s a typical 9-5 and I don’t work on weekends. That said, this is somewhat of a set back when it comes to keeping in touch with people. I can’t really do much during weekdays because by the time I’m home from work, it’s already close to midnight somewhere else.
  4. Busy schedule. I’ve been told at times that I have too much on my plate. But that’s how I like things. I like to be on the go, and have things to do – from personal projects to social events to hobbies and everything else in between. I’ve ‘re-jigged’ my schedule one too many times and I still end up with the same problem. But honestly though, this is a selfish act on my part because I could have a less busy schedule so I have more time to spend with friends + family.
  5. Weekend failures.  This is the ultimate failure as I rush and run to complete what’s on my schedule and at the same time hoping to call everyone on my list. On a rare occasion, this works out. But most of the time, it’s an exhausting failure.

I truly adore my friends and family and only wish I was better at keeping in touch. I think connecting and reconnecting with family and friends outa be the primary thing on my New Year resolution. Well, it would be the one and only thing on my New Year resolution if I believed in New Year resolutions. I guess I just have to ‘re-jig’ my schedule once more.

…ranting done!

~ by omonaij on January 16, 2012.

3 Responses to “Long distance relationships”

  1. You’re speaking from my heart!!!! It is exactly the same for me.

    • that’s the case with many of us. it’s sad that we’re sometimes too busy to make time for our family and friends, but that’s a reality we can change.

  2. […] I wouldn’t even know where to begin looking to buy a calling card. So really, never mind the families and friends I promised I will call […]

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

