Knocked down by a torn MCL

What are you passionate about? Is there something you really enjoy doing? Do you play the piano? Is photography your forte? Gardening? Cooking?…Blogging? What about sports and outdoor activities? Whatever your niche, what if you couldn’t enjoy your passion anymore? What if you lost all ability to perform that activity, or the ability to perform it to your fullest?

It’s not a good feeling. I know because I tore my MCL.

Football (soccer), running, yoga, swimming, hiking – these are the top fitness activities I really enjoy. I’ve been doing these activities for a few years. Football: on and off for nearly 15 years; running (minus the Track & Field days): 6 years; yoga: on and off for 5 years; swimming: the latest addition, for 3 years; and hiking: whenever the opportunity arises.

Since I tore my MCL three years ago, it seems I’m more prone to injuries these days. I’ve injured both knees about five times. And when I get wiped out with a knee injury, it takes me longer each time to recover. I’ve learned to toss my stubbornness aside and listen to the doctor when he tells me that ‘you have to quit soccer and running for a few months’. Hearing that is as hard as following the treatment he prescribes. It leaves a total void that I can’t imagine filling with anything else.

My problem with having ruined my MCL is not the ability to handle pain, but the disappointment of the whole thing. I feel disappointed, I feel threatened and weakened, I feel lost – it feels like in-between each injury, a piece of me withers away. I feel like a caged animal when I go to a game but I can’t play.

I’ve always been an active person. I’m one of a few people I know who actually enjoys working-out/staying fit. Football and being active have been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. So yes, I might be feeling like I’m losing a piece of my identity.

But all is not lost. Tearing my MCl reminds me that I’m only human, I’m not unbreakable. The incident’s reminded me to be humble, and not to take things for granted. It’s given me a better sense of awareness about my body, about my physical and mental strengths. And because of that, I’m finding more positive ways to deal with this minor setback.

~ by omonaij on May 13, 2012.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

