Skype ruined my Sunday

I used to love Skype. Heck, a few years ago, I was a walking ad for Skype.

I’ve had Skype for some years now and I’ve used it a lot, especially when I lived in Asia. I came back from Asia two and a half years ago and have used Skype less. I actually haven’t used it much since Asia, which is why Skype sent me a warning email in March that my account is inactive…and something about deactivation I think. So I reloaded my account and got back to using Skype again.

Maybe it’s just me but Skype is different than it was when I used it the years before.

I’m sure everything is great when you’re skyping from computer to computer. My issue is that Skype is frustrating when you’re buying credits. The system is inconvenient, unreliable, too much hassle – definitely not the peace of mind I was looking for.

I have an “Unlimited World” subscription. My “Purchase History” shows my purchase was “delivered” May 25. Today is May 27. Now I can’t make calls because I have “No Credits” – even though my credits were delivered TWO DAYS AGO.

The best part of this is me trying to find the contact information for Skype. While I was hoping to find a 1-800-###-#### number, I found this instead: “We don’t currently offer telephone support“, Skype says. So I have to send an email, hoping it gets picked up in the queue and someone replies back to me ON TIME.

So in the meantime, I can’t make calls. I have to wait for however long it takes Skype to resolve the issue or wait for my credits to show up on my account…whichever happens first. And in the meantime, I have to hold off on making Skype calls. I thought Skype would be reliable so I disconnected the long distance package I had with my landline service provider. Now I’m stuck. No landline to call from, no Skype – and I wouldn’t even know where to begin looking to buy a calling card. So really, never mind the families and friends I promised I will call today.

If this is what I have to go through each time I have a Skype issue – not being able to speak to someone directly or resolve the issue promptly – I’ll just have to deactivate my account. I have other useful ways to spend my money than pay for a service I’m not receiving.

When I buy Skype credits, I expect the credits to show on my account and be readily available when I need to use them. This is 2012, I should not have to wait how ever many days to have my Skype credits show on my account.

P.S – Skype, you best be ready to refund my money back or prorate it.

~ by omonaij on May 27, 2012.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

