My NaPpY roots

 DIY homemade remedies for natural hair

There are many things I love that I can easily become a walking ad for. Bubbletea. Prezi. My new HTC  1x (especially once I actually get a good hang of it). Using un-marketed products for hair.

I love my NaPpY roots.

It’s been almost 10 years since I chopped off my relaxed hair and started growing it naturally. Like for my skin, I try as much as I can to use chemical-free products on my hair. I use natural products with fewer chemicals such as olive and coconut oils. I use these products – at their most natural, purest potency – to create homemade remedies that I use to wash, condition and style my hair.

Washing

For normal wash, I use store bought shampoo from whole foods stores/markets that sell natural and organic grocery.

For clarifying my hair, I use baking soda to help remove product build-up from my hair and shaft. It’s reasonable to clarify your hair once a month. Clarifying your hair right before deep conditioning improves the results of deep conditioning. If you choose to clarify your hair regularly using the baking soda and shampoo remedy, do not leave it in for too long or over time your hair will eventually start to break.

Direction: Mix equal amounts of baking soda and shampoo. Apply to un-wet hair. Rinse after 10 minutes.

On a few occasions, I’ve used Apple Cider Vinegar as a final rinse on my hair after washing and conditioning. It adds shine and also works to remove product build up.

Conditioning

For leave-in conditioning/daily moisturizer, I use coconut oil along with one or two essential oils. I mix the ingredients with water in a spray bottle that I use regularly. If you don’t want to make your own, I’ve heard some good reviews about using Carol’s Daughter.

Deep conditioning: I could use olive or coconut oil for just about anything. You can use both oils to condition hair in one of three ways:

  1. For an extensive deep conditioning, apply 3-4 teaspoons of coconut or olive oil to your hair before going to sleep at night. Massage the oil into your scalp. Re-apply as needed to ensure all hair strands are coated. Cover with a shower cap and go to sleep. Shampoo as usual the following morning.
  2. For a less extensive treatment, or if you do not want to sleep wearing a shower cap, apply the oil the same way but keep on at least 1 hour, preferably 2-3 hours. Then shampoo as usual.
  3. Use as a pre-shampoo treatment, which is especially effective in treating dandruff. Massage 2 teaspoons of coconut or olive oil into your scalp half an hour before shampooing your hair as usual. Used regularly, this should help with any dandruff problems.

I also like to use Queen Helene cholesterol and olive oil for deep conditioning. Though it’s not as natural, I like the results.
Direction: Mix Queen Helen Cholesterol and olive oil in a container. Apply to hair after clarifying. Put on a shower cap and leave it in for about 30-40mins. You can also keep it in over night or while sitting under a hair dryer for about 45 minutes. You can also use the cholesterol on its own without the olive oil.

Side note: It’s reasonable to do a deep conditioning once a month. Clarifying your hair right before deep conditioning improves the results of deep conditioning.

Styling

Un-refined Shea butter
Direction: Heat it up and then whip until it’s smooth. Apply to hair for styling. You can add other oils like Castrol oil, glycerin or lavender.

Coconut oil
Direction: I add coconut oil, water and an essential oil in a spray container that I use for my hair regularly. I also use coconut oil on just the ends/tip of my hair.

When it comes to taking good care of my NaPpY roots, I like to experiment and try different things to see which works best. So yes, I do a lot of research so I can create homemade hair remedies that fit my hair type and scalp. Same goes with cutting my hair. So no, I won’t cry if too much is taken off. At the end of the day, it’s just hair. YOU wear it, it shouldn’t wear you. And best of all, it eventually grows back. In fact, I chopped some off last Fall.

I buy almost all my ingredients from whole foods stores or markets that sell natural and organic grocery.


~ by omonaij on June 3, 2012.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

lexa's journal

Living authentically... while trying to balance my career, a healthy lifestyle, and my family. "A Woman in harmony with her spirit is like a river flowing. She goes where she will without pretense and arrives at her destination, prepared to be herself and only herself." - Maya Angelo

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

