Welcome to Nollywood

I heart Nollywood.

From movies about the evil mother-in-law to the perverted professor, the dramatic witch doctor, the corrupt police officer to the potbelly sugar daddy – I love the backbone of the Nigerian entertainment industry in all its flaws and glory.

Nollywood films are the best entertainers and educators. In one seating, you can learn so much about Nigeria and the issues facing its people. Classism is a big on in Nollywood films. The son whose father won’t allow to marry the girl of his dream, a nobody from a nowhere village, would agree with me on this. So would the college girl who sells her body at night just so she could afford the same clothes the rich and popular students at her school wear.

Another thing about Nigerian movies is that anybody can hire somebody to rob or assassin anybody. Often enough, this happens in broad daylight, in front of many witnesses.

It’s not that those issues are not common in other countries. The difference is that justice for such actions in Nigeria is well… non-existent.

One of the most interesting things about Nigerian movies is that some of them are so long that they go from part 1 to part 5. Yes, I’ve had to track down a part 5 once or twice. I don’t mind a movie that’s long if it’s good. But there are also those Nollywood films that are long AND dreadful to watch….yet you don’t want to stop until you’ve watched all the parts. This happened to me recently and kept me up until the wee hours of the morning.

I’m overly jealous when I go to Europe and see that the average Nigerian has access to local Nigerian TV channels packed with Nollywood films. Meanwhile, the most I get out here in Edmonton is…well…nothing. Nothing, compared to what those in Europe get.

But thanks to YouTube, I can get my fix anytime. There are two Nigerian movies I can watch over and over again: Letters to a Stranger and Sherikoko. If you haven’t seen either of those movies, you should. And if you have, I hope you enjoyed them as much as I did.

~ by omonaij on July 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “Welcome to Nollywood”

  1. I hope you’ve discovered IrokoTV by now – best thing to happen to the Naija diaspora re: Nollywood!

    • I stumbled upon iRokoTV a year + ago and didn’t like it because I wasn’t able to watch anything. I see the site has grown since then. YouTube is still my go to place but will give iRoko another try.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

