Finding serenity

The past three weeks have been liberating, quiet,…total peace. There has been no ‘to do list’ for after work activities or the weekend.  Everyday has been ‘my lazy ______’ (insert any day of the week). Even better, I haven’t had to set my alarm on weekends.

But this weekend, I found myself planning out my fall/winter 2012 schedule. I’m excited about yoga, playing on two football teams and even restarting my personal projects. What this also means is that ‘my lazy ________’ are over. Serenity is no more.

My million-dollar task now is finding serenity in a fast-paced, multitasking day-to-day lifestyle.

I’m not complaining about my life or unhappy. I enjoy keeping a busy schedule and a lifestyle that can, for the most part, be summarized in three words: go go go! In all that hectic routine, finding my inner calm is just as important. It reminds me that the sky is not falling, to breathe just a bit easier. It reminds me not to sweat the small stuff and allows me to focus on the important stuff….the kind of things that would matter if I were in my dying bed tomorrow. That inner calm soothes and rejuvenates. Serenity gives me a better perspective on life.

So how do I achieve serenity when after work I have 20 minutes to snack, change and head out the door to a game or when I have to wake up early on a Saturday morning just to get a head start on my weekend to do list?

In the past, I’ve managed to find serenity at work, on the go, at home by

  • trying meditation or breathing exercise, which you can do anytime, any place.
  • going for walks – I go for a mini walk on a break at work or eat lunch alone outside at the park during the summer.
  • stepping away from a project – I find it helpful and more productive to work on something totally different.
  • turning it off – I just stop thinking and try to live in the moment. Be present.
  • laughing – I love to laugh like there’s no tomorrow. Laughing does the heart a lot of good
  • end your day with a nice, positive thought – Before I sleep, I think of one thing that made me happy that day. It could be something that made me smile, laugh, feel good about myself, my skills and ability.
  • leaving it all behind – I love to travel and my body knows the threshold before I start pulling my hair out. It never hurt to have a vacation (big or small) to look forward to.

“Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no trouble, no noise, or hard work. It means to be in the midst of all these things and still be calm in your heart.” – Unknown

~ by omonaij on September 9, 2012.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

