Spending Christmas away from home

My first Christmas away from home landed me in South Korea. It was Christmas Eve and I found myself in the bathroom—crying my eyes out because I missed my family. I wasn’t sad because I was alone. I was actually at a party. I had a group of eight plus girlfriends and two of the girls who were roommates threw the Christmas party. One of my brothers who came along with me for the South Korean adventure was also at the party with his girlfriend at the time. So there were many familiar, friendly faces. But still, while everyone was having a jolly old time chatting each other up and playing drinking games, I found myself in the bathroom crying like a baby. I was sad because I missed being with my family during that time of year.spending christmas away from home

Christmas back home in Nigeria is huge, it’s a big deal. For me, the countdown to Christmas—and all the events following like ‘the cookout’ or visiting relatives on Christmas day—was much more exciting than New Year’s celebrations.

Unfortunately, some Nigerian families, students and workers, for whatever reason, can’t make it home this year to spend Christmas with their relatives. If you’re stuck in this situation, here are some things you can do to join in on the action back home:

  • Participate in family Christmas tradition. If your family has a Christmas tradition, tap into social networks and connection tools to help you join the celebration.
  • Ask for a Christmas package. Ask your family to mail you a package of your favourite things around this time of year.
  • Stay connected. Do the best you can to stay connected and be in on the know about the activities and other things your family is doing back home to prepare for the holiday. This might make you miss home even more, but it could also bring a smile to your face.
  • Make Christmas day phone call a date. No matter what you’re doing or how crazy the time difference, make it a date to call your family on Christmas day. This is even better if both sides have a calling tool that allows you to see one another.

Spending Christmas away from home may land you in the bathroom crying because you miss your family—but it doesn’t mean you miss out on all the action. Find ways to stay connected and join the celebration with your loved ones despite the distance apart.

What do you miss about spending Christmas away from your family?

~ by omonaij on December 25, 2012.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

