I got the BEST Christmas gifts ever

UPDATE on my Christmas gift ideas

OMG, it feels like Christmas was a long long time ago, not just last month. It’s like everyone’s moved on to their New Year resolutions and other happenings. I have too—but I can’t help but gloat over my Christmas gifts.

During the holidays, I wrote a blog post about what I wanted for Christmas from my mini family. I had four Christmas gift ideas for the four people I live with, not including our families that are spread out around the world. And I’m proud to say that my assignments or gift ideas were well-received. My four roommates did their homework and presented their ideas on Christmas day, instead of buying me a gift. Here are the details:  

A family tradition

  • Rightfully enough, my sister-in-law ended up with the a family tradition envelope. She’s big on traditions as much as I am and she actually came up with two traditions for us to start. The first one (once she and my brother move out…in Feb.) is to start a family Sunday dinner. She and I would rotate hosting the dinner. The second plan is for us to start making Christmas ornaments for one another every year that after a while, all the Christmas ornaments on our individual trees would’ve come from someone in the family and as each of us decorate or pack up our decorations each year, we’ll relive the memories and true meaning of those ornaments.

A family fun day

  • My oldest brother, stubborn as a nail, got the a family fun day envelope. He didn’t seem or want to buy into my ideas at first but he actually did his part. Come summer time, he’ll organize a BBQ strictly for the family, which would also include fun activities like water fights (yup, we’ll be loading up those water guns!). He organizes a lot of events and parties but this event will be for just our family instead of the whole city or everyone we know.

A family (road) trip

  • My other older brother got the a family (road) trip envelope. His plan for us is to take a road trip during the Canada Day long weekend. He suggested we go camping or take a trip to one of the cities nearby. I’m super excited about this because I haven’t gone camping in years and it’d be something new for our family.

A family fundraiser

  • My husband was the winner of the a family fundraiser envelope. And his plan for a family fundraiser is to organize a football (soccer) tournament where we can get our friends involved. Each person that plays or attends the event will pay a small fee. We’d also sell baked goodies at the tourney. At the end of it all, the funds raised will be donated to a charity of my (or our) choice. He has many suggestions about how to make the event fun and I can hardly wait. Football is a fun, unique pastime for our families and many of our friends. I think the event will be well-received.

My mini family is all I’ve got in this city, in the western part of this very large country. It means a lot to me that they feel the same way as I do about making the relationship we have with one another stronger, and starting a legacy of our own.

~ by omonaij on January 20, 2013.

One Response to “I got the BEST Christmas gifts ever”

  1. […] a family meeting) to make sure they understood what it’d mean to me that they did their part of my four Christmas gift ideas. I made sure they got the message loud and […]

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

