Nigeria, home sweet home…?!

I recently visited family and friends in east coast Canada, where I used to live. And I must say I was very taken aback by how beautiful Halifax is. I felt like a tourist in my own old city, oohing and aaahing about how the place is gradually developing from restaurants to shops to new communities for families. I lived in Halifax and later moved to Dartmouth where there are a lot of lakes, and the Atlantic Ocean is practical on my front porch. So yes, my jaw was constantly on the floor about the ocean views, and nothing beats driving along the coast. I would move there to settle down in a heartbeat if Canada’s Ocean Playground met some of the key criteria on my list: tropic/sub-tropical climate, sunny weather + water views.

My visit to Halifax got me thinking about Nigeria. I’ll be going ‘back home’ later this year and I can’t help but think about ‘home’ the way it was when I left it. I know it’s impossible that Nigeria would still be the same way I left it many years ago, still, I want everything to be just as they were. But I know my old school is called something totally different now, Benin City has improved a bit, and some parts of the country are in worst conditions than ever before. So for that, I’ve decided to start on a clean slate. That means:

  • setting no expectations.
  • realizing I won’t have all the amenities I’m spoiled with here.
  • accepting that society runs differently in that part of the world.

I want to enjoy my visit and absorb the culture and traditions I miss so very much, taking everything with a grain of salt instead of complaining. I’m super excited about my visit and I can hardly wait.

~ by omonaij on May 26, 2013.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

