Are more black women going natural?

Are more black women going natural?I’ve been enjoying my nappy roots since 2003. I did my first official Big Chop the summer of 2004 during my second year in university. At the time, I felt like the black sheep around campus. I didn’t see many people in the city either who were spotting the natural style.

But the au naturale movement’s grown strong since—having natural hair is trendy again like the afro was back in the 70s. When I went to my old city a few months ago to visit family and friends, I spotted many people who had natural curls than relaxed hair that a person with relaxed hair seemed more like the black sheep.

I’ve also noticed the trend during my travels, I’m now seeing more people with natural hair. I’ve been to Italy many times that I could practically consider the country my fourth home (Nigeria’s 1st, Canada 2nd, andSouth Korea 3rd). And all the times I’ve been to Italy, one hairstyle’s been the norm among African immigrants there—wigs and weaves. My last trip in 2012 was a little different. I spotted a few more than usual napturalistas, even more interesting, napturalistas with interesting, bold hairstyles.

There’s speculation on the web that “between 2006 and 2011, sales of chemical straightening kits dropped by 17 percent, according to one industry report.”

Many people believe that Hollywood influenced the trend. Christ Rock rolled out his 2009 documentary “Good Hair” and A-listers like Solange Knowles, Halle Berry, and Viola Davis are rocking their nappy roots on red carpets. Both Chris Rock and the ladies have won the public over with their choice to highlight the issue or return to their natural roots. Viola Davis has been quoted saying:

“I think people admire the boldness of it, and the courage of it. For me, personally, it represents my coming into who I am, not apologizing for it and being comfortable with the way I look. I have been amazed by the testimonies … especially from women of color who have thanked me for it.”

Personally, I do believe that embracing my nappy roots does give me the boost to be more bold, confident—and adventurous with my hairstyles. When I used to relax my hair:

  • I didn’t like not being able to get my hair wet whenever I wanted.
  • My hair would break a lot, especially in the back.
  • My relaxed hair was thin, there was no body/weight to it.
  • I was tired of constant perming.
  • The relaxing chemical scared me. The odour alone smelled hazardous and the fact that stylists at the salon had to wear gloves before they’d put the chemical in my hair/scalp made me wary.
  • Overall, it jus didn’t feel like ‘me’. I felt like I was covering up something, trying to be something I wasn’t.

What matters in the end is YOU. A lifestyle change to embrace natural hair isn’t for everyone.  You know yourself and your hair best. So choose whatever hairstyle compliments the authentic you.

~ by omonaij on July 21, 2013.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

