12 things I love about Bermuda…especially during Cup Match

There are three things I need in my life when it comes to choosing a place to live or to visit. Those three things are: warmth (a tropical or at least a subtropical climate), water (the ocean preferably instead of lakes or ponds), and food…seafood that is. BERMUDA’s got all three—and then some.

I’ve been to Bermuda a few times and I fall in love each time I go. My husband is Bermudian, which comes in handy when I’m out exploring the island. He knows where to find the hidden gems and the off-the-beaten-path adventures that I like. He’s a great tour guide/historian.

I had been looking forward to Bermuda all year long, especially during the winter months. The vacation didn’t disappoint and I enjoyed every bit of it.

Bermuda’s a vibrant culture aesthetically, and in a way that’d leave your taste buds crying for more. It’s a destination you should mark with a tac pin on your map of places to visit or write down on your bucket list.

Here are my top favourite things about “Bermy” (as I like to call it):
12 – Rum Swizzle – you haven’t been to Bermuda until you’ve tasted the local drink.
11 – Dockyard – I like the shops there, and walking around the area.
10 – Historic sites – at times, I like to just get in the car and go exploring: the town of St. Georges, the Fort etc.
9 – The Arboretum + botanical garden – a nice place for a walk, picnic or even a small nap.
8 – Beach hopping – there are so many beaches in Bermuda, I try to explore different ones whenever I visit.
7 – Front street – the island’s downtown is always bustling with the locals, tourists and expats, where you can shop until you drop.
6 – Jamaican Grill – this is my #1 stop on the way home from the airport…I’m not kidding.
5 – Cup Match – I’m not a big fan of cricket but I always make it to the last/final game. It’s a fun atmosphere with a lot of food and a tent where you can play Crown & Anchor
4 – SEAFOOD – if you’re a seafood lover like me, rest assure you can eat different kind of seafood all day long until your heart is content
3 – Concerts and parties – Cup Match is one of the best times to really experience the Bermudian nightlife. The 2013 Cup Match brought in big tunes like Beres Hammond, Bunji Garlin, Fay-Ann Lyons, Demarco, and local artist Collie Buddz. Another event was the Soca vs. Reggae party. The two were epic.
2 – Turquois beaches – eating, napping and swimming at the many beaches.
1 – The cool, calm, collected nature of a coastal life.

If you haven’t been, you definitely should go!

Enjoy your stay in Bermuda.

~ by omonaij on August 25, 2013.

One Response to “12 things I love about Bermuda…especially during Cup Match”

  1. […] I recently spent a week and a half in Miami with three close girlfriends from university—you know, those ‘5 years in the making’ reunion type of trips. We had a blast. Miami was definitely the right place for us. After the girls left, I stayed a few extra days because I was enjoying the place a lot for having all the three things I need when I visit a city. […]

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

