My favourite hair care products for my TWA

I can’t tell you enough how much I love my nappy roots. I’m so in love with my teeny weeny afro that I could easily write a book about it. Other than having an extremely dry type 4B/C hair and uncontrollable knotted/split ends, I love everything about my natural hair. And taking care of it can be fun.

Why I like natural/homemade remedies
I enjoy my hair regimen and experimenting with organic/natural hair care products until I find the one that works for my hair type. Not everyone with natural hair uses organic/natural hair care products, but a lot of napturalistas do. And it’s a personal choice that I’ve made as well because that’s the kind of lifestyle that I like. I take care of my hair the same way I take care of my body (inside + outside). I make my own body lotion/moisturizer and I use natural home remedies to treat illnesses rather than grabbing for pills. If there are healthier alternatives for taking care of my body and hair than commercial products, it only makes sense to me to go that route.

This weekend, I went to one of my favourite whole foods/organic stores in Edmonton (the Vitamin Farm at City Centre) and I got a lot of stuff. I like to go on the first Tuesday of every month because that’s when they have their 20% off customer appreciation day. The staff there are friendly and helpful. Below are the goodies I purchased, and some of the products I already have.

There are many online resources and local stores (depending on where you live) to get your natural hair care products or learn more about taking care of your nappy roots. I suggest you do your research to find out what you need first before you buy anything.

…and drop me a line if you find a natural home remedy for how I could use my Flax Oil.

new products that I bought (l-r): flax oil, apple cider vinegar, grapeseed oil, avocado oil, jojoba oil, castor oil, honey, aloe vera gel, shea butter, cocos, coconut oil + vitamine e oil.

new products that I bought (l-r): flax oil, apple cider vinegar, grapeseed oil, avocado oil, jojoba oil, castor oil, honey, aloe vera gel, shea butter, cocoa, coconut oil + vitamin e oil.

Now hair products for natural hair

I really don’t care much for brand names as long as my products are at the most purest state. But I’m starting to like the Now brand. It has good quality products and I just love that I can get a lot of my products with the same brand.

natural hair care products for black hair

the non-Now products I bought…I’m not sure what to do with the Flax Oil yet, I bought it out of impulse and because I came across a few hair recipes that included it, but now i can’t find the recipes. I’m sure it’d come in handy soon or later. meh

One 'n Only Argan Oil hair care products for natural hair

not so new products: these are the One ‘n Only Argan Oil hair care products that I use for my hair. I chose this brand when I was looking for shampoo and conditioner that didn’t have a lot of bad chemicals in them and the One ‘n Only Argan Oil shampoo and conditioner are Sulphate, Phosphate and Paraben free.
other than shampoo and conditioner, my hair care products are mostly homemade. But I wanted to try the Styling Cream and the Hydrating Mask.

Everyday Shea Moisturizing Conditioner

I recently ran out of my regular One ‘n Only Argan Oil conditioner so I decided to try something new. I must say I like One ‘n Only better because of how it felt on my hair and I didn’t need to use a lot of it but this new brand requires a lot to really get through my whole head.

olive oil - home remedy for natural hair

EVOO is a staple in my regimen–and should be for any napturalista.

baking soda - home remedy for natural hair

an important part of my regimen

how to clarify natural hair - home remedy for natural hair

I use these to clarify my hair. mix baking soda + shampoo + water (a little bit). apply to hair and wash out after about 5 mins.

containers for lotions and hair creams

I purchased these plastic containers that clasp onto each other for my homemade lotions, creams and other fun stuff.

~ by omonaij on September 8, 2013.

2 Responses to “My favourite hair care products for my TWA”

  1. […] hair care products. That said, I still save a lot. This year, I spent under $300 for my hair care products, including shampoos, conditioners, and apple cider vinegar. I then make my own creams, spritz, […]

  2. […] true naturalista when it comes to my hair. As much as I can, I use healthy, natural, chemical-free products in my hair. Best of all, I got rid of my flat iron! Now I have a regimen I follow to make sure my extremely […]

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

lexa's journal

Living authentically... while trying to balance my career, a healthy lifestyle, and my family. "A Woman in harmony with her spirit is like a river flowing. She goes where she will without pretense and arrives at her destination, prepared to be herself and only herself." - Maya Angelo

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

