Christmas gift ideas a bust

worst Christmas everLast year, I went through a lot of troubles to make sure my family got me the Christmas gifts I wanted. I made four postcard-type of cards and each card had a theme about what I wanted to Christmas: a family tradition, a family fun day, a family fundraising and a family road trip. My sister-in-law and her husband got the first two cards respectively. My hubby got the fundraising card and my other brother drew the family road trip card.

I did everything (but call a family meeting) to make sure they understood what it’d mean to me that they did their part of my four Christmas gift ideas. I made sure they got the message loud and clear.

I also made sure my gift ideas were things my family could feasibly do—and the best part was that they had a whole year (until Nov. 2013) to get it done. Throughout 2013, I reminded them and told them of many opportunities and even gave them some ideas.

What did I get? NOTHING. …well, only my sister-in-law did her part. She started Sunday Dinner, our new family tradition. Now the two houses take turns hosting Sunday Dinner.

The boys didn’t do their part—and I was pissed. So disappointed that I decided I wouldn’t get them anything this holiday season. After I let everything marinate and had some time to cool down, I decided to still get them Christmas cards (just because I love to get people cards and write them nice messages). But instead of getting them meaningful gifts and going through the troubles of all that, I got each of them a $20 gift card to their store of choice. That was my pay back. And yes, I can be childish like that—a definite ‘tough love’ and strict disciplinarian type. But I’m sure the boys don’t care about any of that and I doubt they learned anything from this.

This year, I sent them a list of the things I wanted for Xmas, and sure enough they got me the material things I asked for.

~ by omonaij on December 29, 2013.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

