Half of a Yellow Sun goes Hollywood

Half of a Yellow Sun goes HollywoodChimamanda is the authentic, phenomenal women. And I’m her stalker biggest fan. One of her books, Half of a Yellow Sun was adapted into a movie in 2013 and it’s creating a lot of buzz in Hollywood, competing for awards with other big Hollywood films and actors.

I’ve been watching interviews of the cast and author, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, promoting the movie and they’re doing a really good job.

When I read the book a couple of years ago, I couldn’t put it down. It made my heart melt with love just as it made it drop with sadness. The story follows the lives of two sisters during the Biafran War and my country’s struggle to gain independence. The movie was shot in Nigeria, starring Nollywood sweetheart Geneieve Nnaji, and major Hollywood actors Chiwetel Ejiofor, Thandi Newtor and Anika Noni Rose. Screenwriter, Biyi Bandele wrote the screenplay and welcomed the challenge of also directing the movie.

I’m very excited to see this adaption and I think the cast/crew will give outstanding performances. Chiwetel is a great actor and I love his films, he fits the character of Odenigbo well; Anika Noni Rose is a superb actress and I love love LOVE her in First Ladies’ Detective Agency and I think she’s going to nail being Kainene; and Thandie Newton is great, but I’m still trying to picture her as Olanna, I’m sure she’ll kill it.

Half of a Yellow Sun is one of Africa’s most beloved books. If you haven’t read it, you should go get a copy, you won’t be disappointed. And definitely check out the movie when it comes to your area!

I’m going to reread the book before I watch the movie!!!!

~ by omonaij on January 19, 2014.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

lexa's journal

Living authentically... while trying to balance my career, a healthy lifestyle, and my family. "A Woman in harmony with her spirit is like a river flowing. She goes where she will without pretense and arrives at her destination, prepared to be herself and only herself." - Maya Angelo

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

