My weekend of African celebrations in #yeg

February is Black History Month in Canada and there were a lot of fun events going on this past long weekend. African Fashion Week (AFW) kicked off on Friday, Feb. 14 for two days at the Sutton Hotel downtown followed by the Nigerian Students’ Association Inauguration Dinner & Awards Night on Saturday. And on Sunday, February 16, the first official African Night in Edmonton brought out a lot of supporters from the African community as well as the Edmonton Police Service and Alberta Sheriffs.

Because the city is big and very spread out I easily forget that Edmonton actually has a large population of Africans. You have the different zones (East, North, West, and South sides) and it can be hard to cross paths regularly with someone who doesn’t live in your area unless you have activities in common like football (soccer) or committees. It amazes whenever I attend these events and see everyone come out of the woodworks. I just love it!

I went to African Fashion Week on the Saturday to support a girlfriend (she rocked the runaway). And then I helped out at African Night on Sunday (my brother hosted it). I really enjoyed AFW! The show went off without a hitch and the designers and their collections were exotically fabulous, so much versatility in styles—I wanted to buy EVERYTHING. African Night had a really good crowd and I had a blast!! I didn’t see much of the performances because I was working behind the scene but I had so much fun with the volunteers I worked with, they made it super awesome and I love them for them.

Definitely look out for these events next year if you live in #yeg or will be around the area.

Another bonus event was the movie About Last Night, starring Kevin Hart, Regina Hall and Michael Ealy. My husband and I went to see that on Valentines Day and my abs still hurt from laughing so much. Beautiful and very talented cast and it shows. I rarely EVER watch the same movie twice in a year and I’m already lined up to go see About Last Night again—I liked it that much!

~ by omonaij on February 18, 2014.

One Response to “My weekend of African celebrations in #yeg”

  1. […] people haggling me each and every time. That was the case at the Iyanya concert, Basketmouth show, African Night 2013 and recently, a BBQ to fundraise money for 2014 African Night (just to name a […]

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

lexa's journal

Living authentically... while trying to balance my career, a healthy lifestyle, and my family. "A Woman in harmony with her spirit is like a river flowing. She goes where she will without pretense and arrives at her destination, prepared to be herself and only herself." - Maya Angelo

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

