Discovering the little gems in Edmonton #s 12 + 11 – Acting Out Musical Theatre Guild + Wine and Beyond

I love this city (wait…aside from the choking winters, dirty river and vehicle-destroying potholes)….yes, I love Edmonton! I moved here in 2009 and having lived in Halifax and South Korea respectively before the move, I thought the great out west was going to be miserable (based on stereotypes and other things I gathered from people).  Four and a half years later, I can’t get enough of this city. There’s so much to do in and around the city all year round, especially from May throughout August. But my schedule can be a bit packed with things that don’t allow me to really enjoy Edmonton…which is why I’ve enlisted the help of me, myself and I to try at least ONE new thing each month—how ever big or small. I’ve never been to the Fringe, ridden the Queen Riverboat or checked out the kickass Jazz Festival, all of which are on my list of new things to try in 2014.

Since January was #TotalFail, I decided to try two new things in February: a theatre show and an oversized fancy liquor store.

the Acting Out Musical Theatre Guild

the Acting Out Musical Theatre Guild

Edmonton has a great performing art scene (so I’ve heard) and I’ve been meaning to check out a few. So when a friend in the Acting Out Musical Theatre Guild was selling tickets, I was a total yes. I got two tickets for me and my husband for the show “Cooking up a Musical”. I had fun at the show. My favourite numbers were: Adelaids’s Lamment; Nobody Makes a Pass at Me, a comedy about aging and dating in today’s society; Clawence; You’ll Never Walk Alone (because I’m by marriage a huge Liverpool fan); and Officer Krupke from West Side Story. It was $5 well-spent to support a friend, a very low risk cost for trying something new. Criselda Mierau started the theatre in 2008 with just nine members to entertain locals with all time favourite musical numbers.

Wine and Beyond EdmontonAnother new adventure in February was our visit to Wine and Beyond, the department store of liquor stores. The store is very exciting, a bit overwhelming and definitely reasonably priced. The different accessories, tips and facts showcased throughout the store give it that fun quirkiness I like. I felt like a kid in a candy store (ok, bad analogy: kid + booze). And the best part…they have a bar in the middle of the store near the entrance. I’m not a big drinker (only GUINESS and red wine on occasions) but the store was very fun, I can honestly say I learned a lot about booze that weekend.

I love me my dark beers and like to venture out so I got some stouts: an Australian MOA Imperial Stout; an Israeli “dry beer”, and an American chocolate stout from Oregon. I also got me some Chilean and South African reds. One of my girlfriends came over last night and we sampled the goodies from Wine and Beyond. I didn’t have any wine but we all had the beers and it was 3 / 4 votes for the Australian stout. The Israeli beer was too heavy and rich (reminded me of brewed herbal medicine my grandmama used to make me drink when I was little); the American one was too light and a bit wet/bubbly-ish and I didn’t taste the chocolate at all. The Australian was just perfect. I felt it was dry, crisp…just the right about of balance/stout. I would definitely buy that brand again.

So woohoo, second month of trying something new in Edmonton was a success! Next stop…I have no idea. We shall wait and see. In the meantime, check out my photos from these adventures!

Happy boozing!

~ by omonaij on March 9, 2014.

One Response to “Discovering the little gems in Edmonton #s 12 + 11 – Acting Out Musical Theatre Guild + Wine and Beyond”

  1. […] this year, I made a deal with myself to try at least one thing each month that’d allow me to enjoy Edmonton. There are many things to […]

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

