Where’s Half of a Yellow Sun playing in Canada?

Where’s Half of a Yellow Sun playing in Canada?

I’m jealous and a bit annoyed about this movie. Well, not the movie itself. I’m jealous that some people have seen the movie, meanwhile, I’m sitting here crossing my fingers and toes hoping that the movie comes to Edmonton. I know this is a big wish, this is the same city that’s disappointed me at times for not carrying black movies from Hollywood, talk about a Nollywood film with international influence and entourage.

I read the book some time ago, and I’ve waiting for the movie ever since I found out they were making one. HOAYS has premiered in multiple cities, including Toronto, NYC, London and Lagos. But I can’t find any information about when (or if) it’s coming to a theatre near me.

This’s become like that Where’s Waldo book/game.

I understand the politics and behind the scene shenanigans that impede movie distribution but a girl still wants what she wants. Give me my access to a little bit of diversity in movie selection. Canadian TV is already dry and lacks diversity (characters, roles, storylines). Movie options at the theatres are no different. HOAYS in movie theatres in Edmonton would be refreshing.

I’d be the first person in line if Half of a Yellow Sun comes to Edmonton. Back to crossing my fingers and toes now that I’m done writing this post.

Happy Sunday!

~ by omonaij on April 20, 2014.

2 Responses to “Where’s Half of a Yellow Sun playing in Canada?”

  1. “I’d be the first person in line if Half of a Yellow Sun comes to Edmonton” . I said the exact same line, word for word, to a few a few days ago! I just Googled ‘Half Of A Yellow Sun movie edmonton’ to find out when and where it’s showing, and your blog was the first Google result. Once that movie comes out, I go dey that line 1st before you, no dulling.

    No Naija movie has got me this excited to see it since Mother Of George; the new wave of well-produced Nigerian movies are finally getting the limelight, and hopefully, the gross income they deserve.

    Hi, my name is Toonna. Nigerian in Edmonton also, cheers to great Nigerian cinema!

    • hahaha that’s great. You have to come back and leave me a comment on this blog post if you hear a peep about HOAYS playing in Edmonton…heck anywhere in Canada…I could always use a trip lol.

      I really am proud of the Nigerian entertainment industry, I just wish our political system has progressed as much also.

      Nice to meet you Toonna. Check out this Meetup group I created and join us if you’re interested: http://www.meetup.com/Nappy-Roots-Beauty-Edmonton/

      Cheers.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

lexa's journal

Living authentically... while trying to balance my career, a healthy lifestyle, and my family. "A Woman in harmony with her spirit is like a river flowing. She goes where she will without pretense and arrives at her destination, prepared to be herself and only herself." - Maya Angelo

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

