Discovering the little gems in Edmonton #9 – Edmonton Oil Kings

To me, football (soccer) is gold. But around here, hockey takes the cake. Hockey is the staple sport in Canada, and even as bad as the Oilers have been playing over the years, Edmontonians still fill the rink each game hoping for a miracle. Well, I’m not one of those Edmontonians.

You know sometimes when you don’t like something and no one can persuade you to feel otherwise, maybe it’s a certain food or movie. Yeah, I share your pain. Ask my friends and they’ll tell you the four sports you couldn’t pay me enough to sit through and they’re: cricket, gridiron, curling and hockey. At the same time, I’m also very open to trying new things. So I decided to give hockey a chance as part of my New Year resolution to try at least one new thing in Edmonton every month, something I’ve never done before—no matter how big or small.

Believe it or not, I’ve been living in Canada for many years and I’ve never been to a hockey game…that one time  ages ago in junior high school doesn’t count. That experience was actually one of the reasons I’m not so fond of hockey. I was freezing cold the entire time I was at the game, and the fact that I had just moved here from Nigeria to Canada at the time didn’t help much. Another turn off is the fighting. I still don’t understand how teams can be playing one minute and the next they’re pounding the heck out of each other…and that’s suppose to be part of the game? At the end of the day, the sport just isn’t that interesting to me.

Regardless, I gave hockey a chance. We watched the Edmonton Oil Kings play Brandon during the WHL playoffs early this month. The week before the game, I was super stoked to be going to my very first official hockey game. My family and friends had a good laugh that I was that excited about a hockey game. Game day came, a group of us had dinner after work then headed to Rexall Place. I was belly full and excited to learn about the hockey rules and lingo. I was still super interested and following along very nicely…well until halfway through the second period. I was ready to pack it up and call it a day by the time third period rolled in (I may or may not have dozed off a bit during the last period). I had fun though and learned a bunch of new things about hockey…which I’ll probably forget in a month or two but hey. One thing I really liked about the sport is the players’ agility—and their awesome skating skills. It was fun and I’ll definitely be going to another hockey game, maybe one game a year…baby steps.

~ by omonaij on April 27, 2014.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

