Supporting African events and activities in Edmonton

I’ve been to different African events in Edmonton, but mostly the ones my brother organizes. I thought it’d be a great idea to branch out and support other people’s efforts for putting something together that Africans in Edmonton could enjoy. And it was the perfect opportunity when I found flyers in my brother’s truck earlier this month for two African events. I attended the first event last night (The Afro Night of Style) and the second one (Obsidian Awards 2014) is happening on October 12.

My Ghanaian friend and I were pumped about The Afro Night of Style. I didn’t mind getting there a few minutes late but she really wanted to be on time for the 8 p.m. show. By the time we did all our runaround, we ended up at the event at 8:15. This was an African event, and I suspected that people won’t start showing up until an hour or an hour and a half later. I definitely didn’t expect the no show to last 3 hours. Yes, people started showing up at 11 p.m. for an event they knew started at 8 p.m. By 11:30, we were tired of waiting around for people to arrive so the show could start—and left.

Though we were excited about it, I almost didn’t want to go to the event because that day was very hectic for me that I was exhausted after all the errands and chores. In the end, I’m happy we went because something good still came out of it. My friend and I had a chance to chat with the Nigerian couple who started Afrospora, a website that profiles and celebrates Africans in the diaspora. While we waited for the event to fill up, the four of us had what felt like a mini conference on how to improve the African community in Edmonton

We chatted about the different African organizations in the city; what’s working and what’s broken in those organizations; our experiences and the difficulties we’ve faced when collaborating with fellow Africans in a committee or association we once belonged; creating more meaningful events/activities where people can discuss issues and ideas as well as events that are entertaining and fun for the family. The gist of our mini impromptu side conference was about improving the African community in Edmonton—how we can better add value to Edmonton as a city, to our African community as a whole and to the lives of our children as first/second generation Africans (I know I don’t have kids yet, but still…). It was a really good chat, and very inspiring to find people who believe in the same things that I do.

Annoying and embarrassing “African Time” aside, I’ll still go to the event that’s happening next month. African time might kill the mood once I get there, but you never know what other goodness might come out of just been present.

Happy Sunday!

~ by omonaij on September 14, 2014.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

