What I learned from my 10-day cleanse

Call me lame but I like to try things that get me out of my comfort zone, no matter how big or small—or sometimes, stupid—the thing is. Something I tried recently that’s outside of my comfort level is body cleansing.

Now, before I tell you about my cleansing experience, know that I eat a lot. That’s challenge #1 I took on when I started the strict-eating detox cleanse. I’m constantly eating throughout the day (meals, snacks and everything else in between), and I can clean up an overly loaded plate of rice and stew like no man’s business. Mind you, I do eat healthy. Secondly (and the ultimate challenge) was discipline. I’ve never in my life had to follow a rigid eating structure. Thirdly, I have no interest in anything remotely close to cleansing like fasting, dieting or giving up something for lent—I dislike any form of starvation. But I didn’t want to knock detoxifying cleanses until I tried one.

I thought the 10-day Clear Change Metabolic Detoxification program by Metagenics would be a good one to try, even though I think detoxifying diets are a waste of time and money, and there’s no clinical proof they’re effective. But remember, I’m lame, I find it fun to challenge myself in weird ways like this.

This is what I learned:

  • Buying the cleanse package can be expensive. I bought the “Firstline Therapy Clear Change 10-Day Program” for $125. The program is developed by Metagenics and I bought it through my naturopathic doctor. I’ve heard of cleanses that cost less and also some that cost more. I contemplated returning the stuff before I finally did the detox cleanse.
  • Grocery shopping for the ‘recommended’ ingredients and foods can be expense. The ingredients and foods I needed for my first day cost me $36. When I lived alone, I got by just fine on a $150 monthly grocery budget. Imagine spending $36 of it on just one day’s meals.
  • Grocery shopping for the ingredients and foods can be annoying and inconvenient. It was annoying for me because I wanted to buy my vegetables and fish fresh each day. This meant going to the store every day, which is inconvenient. One time, I forgot to stop at the grocery store on my way home from work and ended up having to go back out after I had already gotten home.
  • Figuring out what ingredients to buy can be frustrating. I normally stick to my usual brands when I grocery shop that by now I know exactly what to get without having to think at all. But some of the things I had to buy during this body detoxification were things I didn’t buy at all or not regularly. So I was overwhelmed by the number of choices (types and brands) for one single item, like raisings. It was frustrating to choose between the different types of an item, especially when the cleanse program guide didn’t specify the type I needd.
  • My body didn’t feel any different during the detoxification or a few days after before I fully got back to my regular diet. I mean if you want to get down to the details, my urine was green and I did #2 a bit more often. That was about it. I didn’t feel any different physically, mentally or spiritually.
  • I was hungry often. Not because I wasn’t eating enough. That’s actually one thing I liked about the cleanse diet—you could eat as much of the ‘recommended foods’ as possible. I was often hungry because it took me longer to prepare meals. I’d have my meal or a shake or a snack just before leaving work, but I was starving by the time I’d stop by the grocery store on my way home, cook and actually sit down to eat. That process took time and energy and delayed when I ended up eating dinner. I was cooking everyday instead of a day or two in advance like I normally do.
  • I felt cheated when I ran out of the ‘nutritional beverage’ mix I needed for my shakes—and I still had a day to go that required two scoops of the mix three times a day. This was upsetting because I measured each scoop as was recommended so I’m not sure how I could’ve run out.
  • The ‘nutritional beverage’ and ‘dietary supplements’ tasted horrible.
  • My taste pallets totally changed. This is the only good thing I noticed about my detoxifying diet. The detoxifying diet consisted of mostly salads and raw or slightly cooked vegetables with minimum condiments. I normally don’t eat salads and I often sauté or cook my vegetables with seasonings and such. My taste buds adjusted fewer condiments in my foods. During the cleanse regimen, I used only extra virgin olive oil (evoo) and vinegar on my salads and evoo and tiny amount of salt (for taste) on my vegetables. I got used to the salads and raw vegetables that I even craved them at times.

I already knew some of these things and didn’t have to put myself through 10 days of starvation to figure them out.

The detoxifying treatment gave me a chance to: 1) introduce healthy fresh whole foods to my diet like salads and raw vegetables; and 2) train my palate to have a taste for foods in their most natural state. Even so, I don’t think I’ll do another cleanse again. It’s weird for me to starve myself for any number of days—I’m too much of a little miss piggy for that. My body is designed to naturally cleanse out my system, especially if I take good care of myself by eating healthy (vegetables, fruits and drinking a lot of water). I’ll let it do its job.

~ by omonaij on October 26, 2014.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

lexa's journal

Living authentically... while trying to balance my career, a healthy lifestyle, and my family. "A Woman in harmony with her spirit is like a river flowing. She goes where she will without pretense and arrives at her destination, prepared to be herself and only herself." - Maya Angelo

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

