Discovering the little gems in Edmonton #4 – Ribbon Rouge gala

I can’t believe there’s just one month left in 2014—which mean I’m almost done my “Discovering the little gems in Edmonton” project. Early this year, I promised myself to get out more and enjoy the many great things and happenings my city has to offer. There are tons of things to do in Edmonton, but sometimes life gets in the way. You find that you’re either too busy or you simply take your city for granted.

This month, I attended Ribbon Rouge’s annual gala, something I’ve been meaning to do since I found out about the foundation through my brother. The gala raises money for HIV and precedes go to HIV Edmonton, The Stephen Lewis Foundation and UNAIDS program. It’s a great cause I really wanted to support. I was impressed and inspired by Ribbon Rouge when I first heard about it, especially the fact that a young female founded it, someone whose vision I could relate to. Her name is Moreneke (she also goes by Nikki) and she’s been organizing the annual event for seven years now. I first met her in 2013 through my brother when she volunteered to help us with African Cultural Night 2014.

The gala was good. It started at 6 p.m. (no “African Time” with this one). I got to enjoy Sierra Jamerson sing, check out an art exhibition focused on the “Phenomenal Woman” theme, and bid on a few silent auction stuff while the show got ready to really kick off. Later on, a dance performance followed by a fashion show set things in motion. Dinner started making its way around after that while we watched the Sangea African dancing/drumming jam up a storm and got the crowd to join in on the fun too. Afterward, Medgine blessed the crowd with fierce, unapologetic, heartfelt spoken word. After that, it was dance dance dance for the rest of the night.

I really enjoyed Medgine’s spoken word and the Sangea dancers. Plus I got two of the three stuff I bid for in the silent auction. It was an expensive night, but it was worth it. Like Nikki, there are many young people in Edmonton making a difference everyday. I’m always happy to be a part of that experience and contribute whenever I can.

~ by omonaij on November 26, 2014.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

lexa's journal

Living authentically... while trying to balance my career, a healthy lifestyle, and my family. "A Woman in harmony with her spirit is like a river flowing. She goes where she will without pretense and arrives at her destination, prepared to be herself and only herself." - Maya Angelo

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

