3 ways to prep your hair for protective style

I love protective hairstyles, especially with braids/extensions. My go-to protective hairstyle for the winter months are single braids with Marley Braids. I use Marley Braids (a lot) to do mainly short and long medium-size two-strand twists, chunky twists/Havana Style and cornrows. When I’m not going coo coo for Marley Braids, I use X-pression braiding hair. Those are my two go-to braiding hair brands. I tend to keep my braids in for three to four months. That is perfect enough time to give my hair a break from combing and styling and help it grow. But before I put my hair in a protective hairstyle for such a long period of time, I make sure my hair is well cared for and gets all the nutrients it needs before it goes into hiding.

My routine is simple, and I never miss it whenever I install a new protective style.

  1. Clarify

My clarifying mix consists of 50% shampoo, 30% baking soda, and 20% water. I mix it all together, apply to my hair, leave it in for no more than 10mins, then I rinse with lukewarm water. This removes all the buildup from my hair and leaves it squeaky clean. When your hair is squeaky clean, it makes it easier for deep conditioner or LOC to penetrate every single strand deeply because there is no build up or other chemicals surrounding the hair strand.

  1. Deep condition

Almost all the products I use for my hair are natural/home remedies and I make them myself (except for shampoos). I have a few choices for deep conditioners, depending on what I’m trying to achieve (protein, strength, fight dryness etc). My all-time favourite is 80% honey (heated in hot water or for 10-15 seconds in a microwave) with 20% extra virgin olive oil. Simple. This mix gives my hair strength, helps it retain moisture and keeps it soft. I mix the two ingredients together, apply to my hair, leave it in for as long as I want, then rinse with warm water. Most of the time, I apply this honey and extra virgin olive oil deep conditioner to my hair in the morning on a weekend and then I go about my day doing house chores or errands, and then I rinse it out later in the evening.

  1. Do the LOC method (liquid, oil, cream)

Once I’ve deep conditioned my hair and I’m ready to start the protective hairstyle, I moisturize my hair and keep the moisture in by following the LOC method. I do the LOC method in sections as I braid my hair because adding water to each section I part for the braid makes it easier to comb/manage. I part my hair into four big sections. As I work on each section, I part the amount of hair I need for each braid, apply “LO” (from my spritzer of 70% water and 30& oils), comb, apply the “C”, then add the braiding hair and start braiding/twisting.

It’s just that easy, and you can do it too. Give your hair the nutrients it needs, especially before you put it in a protective style for a long time.

~ by omonaij on January 18, 2015.

One Response to “3 ways to prep your hair for protective style”

  1. Reblogged this on Naturally Here Bahamas.

Comment on this post!

 
The pretty looks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Bougie Life

voice of a Nigerian abroad

omonaij

voice of a Nigerian abroad

African Remy

UK natural - Me and my Nigerian hair :)

Shanscapes!

Escape with me to the world of Fashion, Travel, Cinema, and all things Natural

HERMAJESTY_M

All Things Natural

Musings of a Crazy Nigerian

Ramblings of a 419er/Dictator/Oil-rich Madman

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Happy Wives Club

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Farafina Books

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Paulo Coelho

Paulo Coelho Writer Official Site

Klassy Kinks

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Coily, Kinky, Curly

My Natural Hair Journey

Health & Wellness by Lexa's Journal

My mission in life is to not merely survive, but to thrive: and do so with passion, compassion, humor, and style. - Maya Angelou

Afrophire Magazine

Your Brighter Life Guide

Amirah B Free Blog

Author * Singer * Life Coach * Yoga/ZUMBA Instructor * Naturalista * Mom

Wild Hair Beauty

voice of a Nigerian abroad

The Natural Mane

voice of a Nigerian abroad

Mingo's World

voice of a Nigerian abroad

